Poughkeepsie DWI Defense Lawyers
Don’t Trust Your DWI Defense to Anyone but an Experience and Skilled Attorney
Driving while intoxicated (DWI), often called driving under the influence (DUI), is a serious offense with wide-ranging consequences. Even a first arrest can result in fines, one year of incarceration, a ruined reputation and exploding insurance costs. If you are facing DWI charges, do not take your situation lightly. You need a strong, experienced criminal defense team on your side.
At Wallace & Wallace LLP in Poughkeepsie, we have been defending our New York clients against DWI charges since 1979. Contact us to discuss your case in an initial consultation with a DWI attorney from our firm.
We have more than 70 years of combined legal experience that gives us an edge when defending clients against DWI charges. Our principal lawyers have served as Assistant Attorney General of New York State and Assistant District Attorney, respectively. We know the system from both sides, so we have a thorough understanding of how prosecutors will approach criminal defense and DWI matters.
Building the Best Defense Against DWI Charges
In many DWI cases, we can find problems and unsanctioned actions by the police and other officials regarding:
- Illegal stops: The police need to have probable cause or some legally adequate substitute in order to stop someone legally for suspicion of DWI.
- Illegal search and seizure: There are limits to the types of searches that police can perform regarding your car, your home and your person. We will explore the facts of the case to see if the police violated these limits.
- Faulty roadside tests: Roadside sobriety tests such as the horizontal gaze nystagmus test (involuntary jerking or bouncing of the eyeball), the walk and turn, and the one-legged stand can be faulty in their own right if not administered perfectly, and the surrounding circumstances can alter the results of those tests.
- Blood and breath test problems: There are many problems with the Breathalyzer and other tests used to determine blood alcohol content (BAC). Some of these problems are inherent in the various pieces of equipment used, and some are a matter of police error in using this equipment.
While you may refuse to take a chemical test, be aware that your license will be suspended at arraignment in court. If it is a first offense, your license will be revoked for at least one year and a penalty of $500; a second offense is 18 months and $750.
When there are police errors, violations of personal rights or technical problems, Wallace & Wallace can often get that particular evidence to be discredited by the court or suppressed entirely.
Arrested for Drunk Driving?
Contact Us for a Consultation.
To get in touch with our experienced real estate lawyers, please call 845-473-0900. Our office in the Poughkeepsie Journal News Building is readily accessible.